Video Graphics Array

There are 488 games documented on PixelatedArcade supporting VGA.
VGA is part of the category Display Hardware Supported.
Video Graphics Array (VGA) is a video standard that was introduced by IBM in 1987 initially with the IBM PS/2 line of computers. VGA maintained compatibility with earlier video standards including the EGA standard as well as MCGA while adding new display modes and features. A total of 262,144 colors were possible, with 256 being the most that could be displayed at one time.

Unlike previous IBM video standards, VGA was implemented as a single chip rather than an entire ISA expansion card (the "A" in it's abbreviation stands for "array" rather than "adapter"). This change allowed the option of VGA graphics to be equipped on the motherboard instead of requiring one of the available expansion slots to be used.

In addition to supporting display modes of previous standards, VGA supported the following display modes:
resolution colors notes
40x25 Text 16 colors
80x25 Text 16 colors
320x200 graphics 16 colors
320x200 graphics 256 colors
640x200 graphics 16 colors
640x350 graphics monochrome
640x350 graphics 4 colors
640x350 graphics 16 colors
640x480 graphics 2 colors
640x480 graphics 16 colors
320x400 graphics 256 colors
320x240 graphics 256 colors Often known as "Mode-X"
The VGA standard was more flexible than its predecessors; with some clever programming additional display resolutions were possible as well as additional features such as multiple video pages. VGA was the last standard to be introduced by IBM and was followed up by numerous extensions to the standard which collectively became known as Super VGA.

VGA is available for the following platforms: