Cybernoid: The Fighting Machine

Platforms: Amiga, Amstrad CPC, Atari ST, Commodore 64, NES / Famicom, ZX Spectrum


Main Genre:
Side View
Gameplay Style:
Sci-Fi / Futuristic
Visual Presentation:
Fixed / Flip Screen


ZX Spectrum version of Cybernoid
ZX Spectrum version of Cybernoid

Cybernoid: The Fighting Machine (often referred to as simply Cybernoid) is an action game initially released for the ZX Spectrum in 1988 by Hewson Consultants Ltd. Soon after ports were released for the Amiga, Amstrad CPC, Atari ST, Commodore 64, and Nintendo Entertainment System. In the game pirates have raided storage depots of the Federation and stolen numerous jewels, minerals, and more; the player's goal is to control an advanced fighter called the Cybernoid to recover the stolen property.

The Federation's storage depots are hidden on three astroids represented as three levels in the game. As pilot of the Cybernoid player's need to infiltrate the asteroids to retrieve the stolen goods and return it within the time limit. The asteroids are heavily guarded with pirate defenses and by the pirates themselves. The Cybernoid is armed with several weapons. The most basic is a laser blaster which can be used indefinitely; other weapons are limited in capacity and include bombs, missiles, shields, bouncers, and seekers. Additional weapons and items are sometimes left behind when pirates are destroyed and can picked up throughout the game as well.

The game uses a flip-screen presentation with each level made up of numberous screens. Each of the screens presents unique challenge to get through which includes various traps, attacking pirates, missiles, gun turrets, indestructible enemies, and many other obstacles. While Cybernoid is primarily an action game, navigating through many of the screens requires a careful strategy and acquiring and use of weapons will often be key for surviving. Some screens also have blocked corridors where player's need to shoot or bomb a path through. Progression through each level is always forward; once a screen is cleared, players can't move backwards to a previously cleared screen, only on to the next screen. The game begins with player's having a limited number of lives; more can be acquired, and the game ends when all are lost.

The NES version of the game additionally features three different skill levels as well as the option for basic music and sounds or enhanced sounds with no music.


Platform: Amiga
Originally designed by: Raffaele Cecco
Converted to Commodore Amiga by: Tony Cooper
Music by: Gary Knight
Graphics by: Stephen Robertson
Platform: NES / Famicom
Programmer: Christian Harvey
Artist: Adrian Carless
Platform: ZX Spectrum
By: Raffaele Cecco
Music by: J. Dave Rogers
Loading Screen by: John M. Phillips


Instruction Manual
NES / Famicom


Product catalogs, magazines, flyers, or other documentation Cybernoid: The Fighting Machine has appeared in.
*Note: If you are unable to see any images in this section, you may have an ad blocker installed that is blocking the thumbnails and/or images.
Magazine Advertisements

Related Games

Cybernoid Series